YandereMac Launcher

READ THE FAQ IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM BEFORE COMMENTING

When a new version of the game comes out, it will probably be in the launcher within an hour. In addition, I will be posting blog posts for new manual builds still, and the game will be avaliable in the launcher before that.  As a result, I think that it is redundant to post every time I update the version of the game served by the launcher. I will also have this post pinned, so SCROLL DOWN FOR NEW MANUAL BUILDS. Note that I still recommend using the launcher as it will be avaliable quicker.

This launcher will allow you to get the latest version of the game quicker. It lets me push updates easily (and without having to even convert the game, which is done on the fly). Available immediately at http://figgyc.uk/YandereMac.zip (deleted to save space, get launcher 2 or use another mirror). Mirrors follow, but first, two lots of three very long notes that I want people to read so I can stop answering them in the comments:

  • The app will not work unless you update it first time.
  • If you have issues, redownload the launcher.
  • You can use Yandere Sim builds that are from before YandereDev’s hard drive crashed in the same process described in the FAQ for manually loading a version of the game, but with these extra instructions: Right click the .app and clicking “Show Package Contents” then going to Contents > Resources, then right clicking and then clicking “Show Package Contents” on the actual YandereMac.app (the real game), followed by clicking Contents > MacOS then renaming YandereSimulator to YandereSimulator.new then YandereSimulator.old to YandereSimulator (this is the way to revert to the older Unity version that YandereDev used before his hard drive crashed). If YandereDev used even older Unity versions at some point and you cannot load in a version of the game, let me know in the comments and I’ll hook you up! Please note that when a new update is released after this process, it will let you know and will not work unless you swap the files back or redownload the launcher. This will work with every build from at least September 15th onwards although it will probably work much further back as I havent tested that far back.

Mirrors:

Google Drive: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8ErglMcFAPsS0t5N2lXNXR3dlE/view?usp=sharing

MEGA: https://mega.nz/#!9UQRDAgZ!DnQ2Rz4gdVyU4XEEGVGsgYjyWutxer0D4kvIOjtCLlc

OneDrive: https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=7BBC69FD57EAB3F7!2808&authkey=!AP1e-sCJ_ZcZ1vQ&ithint=file%2czip

MediaFire (it’s back, but I’m using the web uploader so it will be later than other sources, and I still recommend my personal server): http://www.mediafire.com/download/bz46ldd05fplyjp/YandereMac.zip

And for the guy who asked, you can still get the March 4th Build manually here:

Main: http://figgyc.uk/ym_old/ym_mar4.zip

Google Drive: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8ErglMcFAPsVTJzTTZ2cUxvSzQ/view?usp=sharing

MEGA: https://mega.nz/#!sIZmDDTS!gS1hwQygghDlpvERbr7BMPu9EXRjvWGPLe0oHJrlNtg

OneDrive: https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=7BBC69FD57EAB3F7!2854&authkey=!AA1zSOibaAfo5w0&ithint=file%2czip

156 thoughts on “YandereMac Launcher

  1. What does this mean? “Sorry, there was an extraction error. (stage 2) Error Domain=URKErrorDomain Code=13 “ERAR_BAD_ARCHIVE” UserInfo={NSLocalizedFailureReason=ERAR_BAD_ARCHIVE}

    Like

    1. Main menu hug only happens on resolutions bellow that of your screen. Black blood bug is on somewhat low priority but I’ll fix it as soon as I figure out how.

      Like

  2. Oh my God, what happened to the blog? It’s super confusing now! Also, I don’t know how to check if the “latest build” is the May 2nd bug-fix rather than the original May 1st!

    Like

      1. I click on the application and it says “are you sure you want to open it, it’s from an unofficial developer” and I click yes and it acts like it’s loading (app bounces)and then nothing happens…?

        Like

  3. I get it, i used terminal yet it says – can’t set <> to 611.917791
    I click edit, then can’t set <> to 7 access not allowed

    Like

  4. I was wondering if you could ever get SuperYandere64 on Mac? I got KuudereSimulator so SuperYandere64 seems fun. Burning Love! seems enjoyable too, though I dont want to request too much just wondering if you are able to.

    Like

    1. BL is ported to Mac by the developer already, just check the downloads page. The main reason I haven’t done Yandere64 or the original Kuudere Sim is because I don’t know what Unity version they run (which is important to my Wineless build process as Unity games only run on the right version binaries which I have to make by hand with Unity for each version. I’ll have a look though and see what I can do if the versions are still avaliable.

      Like

  5. when i open the launcher it comes up on the deck then quits what should i do (tried to download in mirrors but wont work)

    Like

      1. Redownload the build or, for the launcher, go into Terminal and type “rm .ym_version”, press Enter and then reload the launcher. Builds around that date can be a bit buggy. If it persists tell me.

        Liked by 1 person

                  1. I have the file uploading now (and zipped so it doesnt take forever to upload and download) but I did accidentally add ” copy” so make sure to delete that from the filename before you copy it including the space.

                    Like

      1. ok, i got it but i got a weird message saying:
        The application /Applications/YandereMac.app/Contents/Resources/YandereMac.app cannot be opened because its executable is missing

        most likely i have to re download it right?

        Like

        1. Hang on a minute, it might be because I just enabled CloudFlare caching on the download via personal server. Can you check now? I just tried disabling it.

          Like

            1. I have posted a launcher patch that lets you manually download the game by going to figgyc.uk/yan_latest.zip and downloading the file, then by typing “echo ‘force local’ > ~/.ym_version” (no quotes on outside but quotes on ‘force local’) into Terminal then launch the launcher. It will say that you can manually install from ~/Downloads/yan_latest.zip (where it downloads on most major browsers including Safari) so press OK and it should work. This is launcher side so you will need to redownload the launcher to allow the “force local” feature to work if you use a version of the launcher downloaded before the 27th March 2016 at 7:50 BST (clocks went forward from GMT early yesterday) approximately.

              Like

  6. hello! i downloaded yandere simulator and played it recently, about a day ago, but now it won’t open and says that the file doesn’t exist 😦 how do i fix this?

    Like

  7. My Computer has certain aspects blocked by the school because its a school filtered laptop. I really like the idea but it doesn’t work for me so I would appreciate it if you would keep uploading the manual builds ☺️

    Like

  8. I have wine bottler for the osana mod and i tried extracting it but i was EXTREMELY confused:(

    But i got Quinn working 🙂 So Thank you for helping me with that

    Like

  9. I try downloading the osana mod and the harley quinn skin and i did everything you told me and nothing happened! PLZ HELP!:(

    Like

    1. do you have a Windows pc to extract the Osana mod? It appears to use a custom installer to patch a file (which I know the location of in YandereMac)? I’ll check on the Quinn mod gimme a sec

      Like

  10. i downloaded it and t worked and played it once, but now it won’t work and I’ve re downloaded it twice but everytime i try to open it it just closes straight away. how do i fix this?

    Like

      1. yes i did the first time i downloaded it, but now when i have tried to download it again and open it, it doesn’t even come up with any menus, it just opens it for about a second then closes it straight back down.

        Like

          1. i have had the same problem and yet typing rm .ym_version gives me the message rm: .ym_version: No such file or directory what do i do?

            Like

  11. Hey can you mod Yandere Simulator on Mac cause i’ve seen many cool mods or custom skins i really want to try if you can, can you tell me how to do all that type of stuff cause i cant find any file to do any of that.:(

    Like

    1. Yes! Mods on Windows will generally need you to drop files in the “YandereSimWheneverData” folder and the equivalent can be found in the launcher by right clicking the launcher and pressing “Show Package Contents” then going to Contents > Resources then right clicking on the YandereMac.app (which is patched by the launcher on updates so you will need to reinstall mods each time) and pressing “Show Package Contents” then Contents > Data and paste any files that you would paste into the “YandereSimWheneverData” folder on Windows in there!

      Like

  12. Help me please!! I try to opened but…When I click it I get a window that says “A new version has found. install?” Then I click on “Launch Anyways” but then appeared “The files…do not exist” :C (I do not understand how to fixed or used it.)

    Like

  13. Hi! So I’ve been trying to open YandereMac.zip and YandereMac (the application) opens up BUT when I double click on YandereMac to open, it shows up in my desktop, then another YandereMac shows up for a split second, then they both go away and Yandere doesn’t open. ??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. for me, yanderemac asks, wether to check for update everytime or not, with a pop-up only for a little while and it quits. then another yandere tries to launch and disappears.

      Like

  14. Hi it’s just to ask if anyone knows what software do you use to extract the game? I’m in search of one for extracting modeling software to mac It would be great for the help thanks!

    Like

    1. This might be a bit of a help. I make the game by patching a .app of an extremely old build that I got from YandereDev a while back with new Data files from recent Windows builds. You can get to and modify these files (and as a result, mod the game like in Windows) by doing this: Right click YandereMac.app and click “Show Package Contents” Click Contents If you use the launcher, click resources then Right click YandereMac.app and click “Show Package Contents” and click Contents again Click Data Please note that when new versions of the game are released via the launcher it will wipe mods.

      Like

  15. Everytime I put anything into the incinerator it always makes loud banging sounds 😦 so I have to turn the sound off otherwise it will drive me crazy haha!!! It is soooooooo annoying and it’s the same for every single update but otherwise it is really good haha

    Liked by 1 person

  16. When I press Launch Anyway it closes and when I press OK and Edit it gives the error message:

    “Can’t set <> to 5.88874959E+8”

    Like

  17. Every time I dump a body into the incenerator, it starts to make annoying noises until school ends or after a game over screen. This happens in every update that I’ve downloaded. How do I get rid of this?

    Like

  18. The first time I download it I managed to play with it a while, but then when I opened it again today it says it didn’t quit properly or something. I redownloaded it but now, even though I click open nothing happens at all, what’s going on? I don’t know about all these terminal stuff.

    Like

    1. Are you quitting via the main menu (escape⎋) or ⌘+q? I’ve found usage of ⌘+q generally decreases chance of saving. Is the launcher asking you to redownload every launch? If it is, just click Launch Anyway.

      Like

  19. A new version has been found. Install?. i click ok then this happens
    tat: ym.zip: stat: No such file or directory what do i do

    Like

  20. So I tried downloading this version of the game and it’s still not working for me. Every time I click “launch anyway” it doesn’t work. Plus, I don’t know how to edit the script that shows up when it gives me the “edit” option….

    Like

  21. ahhh noo i can’t open the camera iv been trying forever I’m on a macbook air (uk) with no mouse what do I dooooooo?

    Like

    1. Try two finger holding on the trackpad, then press ctrl⌃ to take a picture. If this doesn’t work (I havent tested it because I use a Mac mini and not a Macbook) you will need to rebind right click to another button with software like BetterTouchTool (£2.30 minimum with a 45 day trial and free licence keys for anyone who purchased BTT Remote Pro or BetterSnapTool) or Karabiner (google them). >

      Like

      1. *Midori Gurin voice* YandereDev! YandereDev! When I download it it tells me to download a new launcher. I click “Launch Anyway” but it doesn’t work.

        Like

  22. every time i try to click on it, a window keeps popping up telling me to install a newer version. how to get rid of this??

    Like

      1. ” sh: line 0: cd: /Users/eloritiaedkins/.temp: No such file or directory
        stat: ym.zip: stat: No such file or directory”
        I’m getting this message. I dragged the downloaded app into the Applications folder. Double click on it, click okay, that error pops up.

        Like

            1. “mkdir: illegal option — f
              usage: mkdir [-pv] [-m mode] directory …
              touch: /Users/eloritiaedkins/.temp/ym.zip: No such file or directory
              mkdir: illegal option — f
              usage: mkdir [-pv] [-m mode] directory …”
              Redownloaded that popped up, I tried making the directory, but it keeps popping that up.

              Like

Comment

